attention, please

I don’t mean I need it from you. I need some, in order to pay it to my fiddle.

But I’ve been reminded I haven’t talked about ‘looping’ in a while. So here’s what I’ve been doing.

1) Beatles mania. Interrupted by a short trip to Kansas in which I acquired a Mennonite hymnal and made up some arrangements-while-you-wait. (For the record, sight reading / improvising while watching my dad weep over the music stand is one of the hardest things I’ve ever done.)

2) Back home now. Decided to take Billy up on his invitation to play at Bristol Renaissance Fair on Saturday/Sunday of Labor Day weekend (the office is closed Monday – so I can sleep in that day, right?).  So – I’ve been listening to Hooligan, remembering Irish tunes, and thinking of Balkan tunes that I want to teach him.

3) yeah, that looper. “Nevermind” (no I really mean it. It seems every Nirvana song that comes on the radio I want to cover.)

We’ll get there. All in good time. Tried to catch up on two weeks of gardening last Saturday and I could barely lift my arms by Sunday morning. For now, I’m reading and a-listening to electro-swing. And this: http://youtu.be/r8jN1treRKQ

 

2 responses to “attention, please

  1. I hope you have fun at Bristol 🙂 Thanks for the update on your world 😉 What are you reading? I’m…finally…in my last 60 or so pages of Cloud Atlas.

Leave a Reply

