New Day – Sunshine

Here she goes, list-making again.  This time, not a wish list. Things I’ve already transcribed.

I logged into Noteflight (free online music writing software) – and laughed.

Here’s what I have listed there.

  • Walking on Sunshine – Katrina & the Waves
  • Viva la Vida – Coldplay
  • Madness – Muse
  • La Reina – Walt Kuhlman
  • The Swan – Saint-Saens
  • Home, Sweet Home – H.R. Bishop

In case you don’t know the context, here is mine:

  • favor for a friend. I will never ever play this. But Gamu’s video made me cry. Gamu – X Factor
  • Fun for looping #2!
  • Fun for looping #1!
  • Melody transcription for mandolin orchestra. A song a friend wrote about warring bus lines in Latin America.  La Reina
  • Grandpa’s courtship song for Grandma. I played it at his memorial (sniff).
  • One of Grandpa’s final requests. I didn’t know it at the time, but I learned it for him.

Oh, I am so all over the place! Musically speaking, of course.
Now I am trying to figure out how to do THIS:   Toxicity

The drummer Meytal Cohen has covers of “Roxanne” and “Smells like Teen Spirit.” I wish they had violin parts, because those are the next songs I’d like to transcribe.

But for now, I am off to transcribe some Beatles music. “Here comes Sunshine” as recessional and about six others…..Beatles music is suprisingly NOT simple, ya know?!

Addendum: Just found Teen Spirit! No video, but who needs one when you have a picture like THIS?

/violincrush

5 responses to “New Day – Sunshine

    • I used to do “Blackbird” on solo violin…but now I’ve got a piano/violin book and all I have to do is rewrite 6 or 7 songs from the RH of the piano to 2 violins…should be easy. Theoretically.

Leave a Reply

