Sneetchie Peppers (SHAZAM!)

Here’s a sentence that only works in this century:

“Googling hooks wasn’t working – So, I got Shazam.”

I’ve been Shazam-ed?  I’ve been Shazam-ing the radio.

Which is pretty funny because 1) it’s illegal in this state and 2) I’m going to be disowned from my generation for not knowing this stuff already.

And the winners are: 13 songs, of which 3 are the Red Hot Chili Peppers.  Is that a Mexican polka band? I might need to learn some more about their bass player, because those lines keep drawing me in. They say his name is ‘flea.’

Here goes the list, in no particular order: (my Shazam tags)

Home – Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeroes

Unbelievers – Vampire Weekend

Snow (Heh-Oh) – Red Hot Chili Peppers

Cameras – Matt & Kim

With or Without You – U2

Smells like Teen Spirit – Nirvana

Where it’s At – Beck

Come with Me Now – Kongos

Lazaretto – Jack White

Tell Me Baby – Red Hot Chili Peppers

Under the Bridge – Red Hot Chili Peppers

Flake – Jack Johnson

Do I Wanna Know? – Arctic Monkeys

 

Songs suggested by other people:

SAIL – by AWOLNATION

Daft Punk – Doin’ It Right. (and maybe Get Lucky)

 

Other stuff I heard at Ravinia: (NOT on the radio!)

Crazy for Loving You – performed by Crystal Gayle (NOT by Willie Nelson!)

Wild Bill Jones – version by Allison Krause and Union Station

 

Please excuse my list-making for an actual blog. In three weeks I have an all-Beatles wedding to prepare for (wherein I get to rearrange piano scores for 2 violins), and LASIK before that. At this rate I have transcribed exactly 1 looping song per month, so no way I’m getting through this list in that time.  Just leaving this here for when I can get back to it.

Um, oh yea. I went to Ravinia. There was an opener (yes I talked through it so what we sat on the lawn), and Allison Krause (through whom we did NOT talk!), and Union Station, and a solo by Jerry Douglas (I RAN TO THE STAGE OH YES I DID) and then Willie Nelson, cut short by a tornado warning.

While waiting for the shuttle to the parking lot, I overheard this conversation that says it all:

“Were you here for Willie or Allison?”

“Willie, but Allison was better.”

Yes, yes she was. But I”m glad I saw Willie too. That guitar don’t have much life left in it.

Leave a Reply

