night on, night off

Yep, one of those.

Todd had the day off, so I came home to jazz on the stereo, pork chops on the grill, and mashed potatoes on the stove.  I ate, enjoyed the birds chirping, and so did the cat, who was lying in the sunshine of the open doorway for the first time this year.

Todd asked: “Do you want to go for a walk?” and my face crumpled when I realized how much studying I have to do.  It’s finals week. 

Have I mentioned how much I hate spending my evenings online?  I logged on to do homework but could only stand it for 30 minutes.

So, I pulled up a recipe and made a crock-pot chili with the lentils & garbanzo beans I’d been soaking for two days. I justified the time to myself by saying “it had to be done!” Cooking greatly improved my mood, even though I’d already eaten.   As they say, ‘the best time to relax is when you don’t have time.’

Then, I lay down on an ice pack and read my remaining chapters in the textbook.
After that, I finally finished my glass of wine from dinner – with Todd’s help – while cuddling and watching the 4th quarter of the Bulls game.

Have I said recently how much I love my husband? He rocks, even when I’m crazy.

Leave a Reply

